The Council

Payhembury Parish Council comprises 7 Councillors, who each represent the whole parish.

The Parish Council meets every two months, normally on the second Wednesday of alternate months starting in January, and the meetings are normally held at 7.30pm in the Parish Hall*. Members of the public are always welcome to attend these meetings and are invited to 'have their say' in the first 15 minutes of the meeting, during the 'Public Session'.

The Parish Council also hold an Annual Parish Meeting** between March and May, where the public can find out more about what the Parish Council have done over the previous year and what they are planning for the next. It is an opportunity to provide feedback, ask questions and talk to the Councillors in a more informal setting than the normal Parish Council meetings.

Please see the 'Meetings Information' page for further information, including dates of meetings, and the Agendas and Minutes webpage for copies of agendas and minutes from Parish Council meetings from 2015 to date. More information on the roles and responsibilities of the Parish Clerk and the Councillors will be available soon.

*COVID-19 update - during the COVID-19 restrictions meetings could not be held in public, so instead the Parish Council held online meetings using Zoom - further information. The legislation that allowed for this to happen ceased with effect from 7th May 2021 and Parish Council meetings were required to return to face-to-face meetings from that date. The Parish Council held online advisory non-decision making meetings until September when they resumed face-to-face meetings, which they enabled as hybrid meetings to allow members of the public to attend either remotely, using Zoom, or in person in the Parish Hall.

** The Annual Parish Meeting was cancelled for 2020 and the Annual Parish Meeting for 2021 was held online via Zoom on Wednesday 5th May.